Monty Freeman, President

Monty has been involved with ISS since 2001. He also serves as Chair of the Iowa-Cherkasy partnership. For many years, Monty has taught Biology at Urbandale High School. He is active in his community as a local 4H club leader, and as a volunteer at the Annett Nature Center, where he conducts summer camps for youth. He also serves on the Friends of Warren County Conservation Board.

(Board term began FY04)

Dr. Will Zhang, President-Elect

Will has been volunteering for ISS since 1998. He has also served as Chair of the Iowa-Hebei partnership since 2000. Will has helped coordinate many exchange projects in Hebei, and in its neighboring cities Tianjin and Beijing. Will teaches English and global study courses at Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC).

(Board term began FY00)

Paolo BartesaghiImmediate Past President

Paolo joined ISS in 1998. He also serves as Co-Chair of the Iowa-Veneto partnership. Paolo was born in Lecco, Italy and worked in the fashion industry in Milan for many years. He moved to Des Moines in 1997 and owns Accenti, a retail store East Village, Des Moines. Paolo serves on numerous boards and committees, including Drake Fine Arts and the Italian-American Cultural Center.

(Board term began FY04)

Terri Smith, Treasurer

Terri has been involved with ISS through the Open World Leadership Center programs since 2002 - both as a host family and a local coordinator. She has also participated in programs with Veneto and Terengganu. Terri is the Marketing Coordinator at Morning Sun Care Center, a member of the ABCM Corporation family.

(Board term began FY04)

Kyle Munson, Secretary

Kyle joined the ISS Board in ___. Kyle is a lifelong journalist who has worked for The Des Moines Register since 1994 in a variety of roles, most recently as the Iowa columnist. Beyond his work at The Des Moines Register, Kyle has published a travel book, free-lanced for national magazines and taught college students as an adjunct journalism instructor.

(Board term began FY13)

Tom Rial, 

Tom has been involved with ISS in a number of roles, including President of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Stavropol Committee. Tom works for International Freight Transport, Inc. (IFT) as the Business Development Manager for the Midwest regional market.

(Board term began FY05)

Luca Berrone

Luca has been involved with ISS since the very beginning! He assisted in its formation in 1983 and has serve in various capacities since then. Luca was born and raised in Torino, Italy and built his ties to Iowa as a foreign exchange student at Hoover High School and then as an international student at Iowa State University. Luca is the President of SACMI, USA Ltd., a subsidiary of an Italian manufacturing company.

(Board term began FY06)

E.J. Giovannetti

E.J. joined the ISS Board in 2013. He has been an attorney at Hopkins & Huebner, P.C. in Des Moines since 1970. E.J. has an extensive history of public service, including Mayor of the City of Urbandale from 1977-1997 and Polk County Board of Supervisors from 2003-2012. He is currently active with the Urbandale Chamber of Commerce, the Greater Des Moines Civic Center and Prairie Meadows.

(Board term began FY14)

Grant Kimberley

Grant joined the ISS Board in 2013. He is the Director of Market Development for the Iowa Soybean Association, and has participated in overseas trade missions all around the world. Grant is a sixth-generation family farmer, and in February 2012, he and his family hosted then-Chinese Vice President Xi Jinping for a highly-publicized farm visit. Grant also met with Xi in Beijing the following month as a part of the Iowa Lt. Governor's trade delegation.

(Board term began FY14)

Albert Liu

Albert has played an active role in recent Iowa-Hebei activities, including the 2013 Iowa-Hebei 30th Anniversary celebrations in Iowa and in China. He is Director of Asian Sales for MUSCO Sports Lighting. In addition to ISS, Albert also serves on the Iowa Asian and Pacific Islanders Affairs Commission and the Muscatine Mayor's Committee of China Initiatives. He is Vice President of the Chinese Association in Iowa.

(Board term began FY13)

Roger Nowadzky

​Roger has been involved with ISS for over 17 years. Currently, he also sits on the ISS Board of Directors. Roger is an adjunct member of the AIB College of Business faculty. In the past, he has served as Legal Counsel for the Iowa Legislature, Deputy Executive Director and Counsel for the Iowa League of Cities, and City Attorney of Marshalltown.

(Board term began FY14)

Teresa Parmenter

Teresa joined the ISS Board in 2014 but has been a citizen diplomat for over three decades.  Teresa has played an integral part in the Yamanashi/Iowa Baseall Exchange and has been active in Iowa as the Athletic Director of Holy Trinity School and Governor of the Iowa Amateur Athletic Union for 16 years.

(Board term began FY14)

Loretta Sieman

Coming soon!

(Board term began FY14)

Phyllis Van Gilst

Phyllis joined the Board in 2004, and she has traveled with ISS on an exchange to Yamanashi, Japan where she climbed Mt. Fuji. Her international travel experience is extensive, and she has hosted many international guests over the past two decades. Phyllis is an International Trade Compliance Manager for Emerson Process Management.

(Board term began FY14)

Jane Pate

Jane joined the ISS Board in 2016.  She has been involved with hosting several international delegations from Eastern Europe including dignitaries from the City of Cedar Rapids sister cities.  In addition, her family hosted exchange students from Japan.  She enjoys international travel and has visited several countries.   Jane manages real estate and is involved with their asphalt paving business. Jane currently lives in Cedar Rapids.   

(Board term began FY16)

The ISS Board of Directors oversees our international programs and maintains the ethical and fiduciary responsibility of our organization to financial supporters, state government and Iowa's citizenry. The Board is led by the Executive Committee, which is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Treasurer and Secretary. This committee meets prior to all Board meetings (and other times as necessary) and acts with the authority of the Board between meetings.

FY2016 Board of Directors